CDC Childhood Immunization Champion

The CDC Childhood Immunization Champion Award recognizes individuals who make a significant contribution toward improving public health through their work in childhood immunization. This year, a new partner will join CDC to honor those who are doing an exemplary job or going above and beyond to promote or foster childhood immunization among children 0-2 years old in their communities.

One Champion from each of the 50 U.S. states, 8 U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States, and the District of Columbia will be honored. The awardees will be announced during National Infant Immunization Week (NIIW), April 27-May 4, 2019.

2019 Winner for Delaware:

Harry A. Lehman, III, MD

Physician in Charge, Nemours duPont Pediatrics, Seaford, DE

Dr. Harry Lehman wants the public to understand the science supporting vaccines. He enjoys sharing scientific-based articles with peers, staff, and patients. Dr. Lehman is motivated to meet with patients and families in person, as he believes that’s the most effective way to address any questions or concerns they may have about vaccines. Dr. Lehman aims to question non-science based statements about vaccines and to correct misconceptions whenever possible.

Dr. Lehman is Physician in Charge at Nemours duPont Pediatrics in Seaford, Delaware, which is part of the Nemours Children’s Health System. He put together a work group to increase vaccination rates in his practice. The group focuses on reducing the fear of needles and promoting methods of pain and anxiety management during vaccine administration. Dr. Lehman teaches parents how to soothe their babies during and after receiving shots. He also encourages breastfeeding during vaccine administration as a pain reduction technique. Dr. Lehman believes those extra steps lead to higher immunization rates.

Dr. Lehman promotes teamwork in his office, and takes the time to educate the clinical staff about the importance of vaccines. He set a goal of attaining 100 percent vaccine compliance in the birth to 2-year-old population. Currently, vaccine rates are consistently above 90 percent in his practice. All vaccine records are reviewed by the clinical staff during every visit to identify any gaps in care.

For his dedication to educating parents and his staff about vaccines, Dr. Harry Lehman is Delaware’s 2019 CDC Childhood Immunization Champion.

Previous Champions:

2018: Vibha Sanwal, MD; Rainbow Pediatrics, Georgetown
2016: Michelle Power, MT; Christiana Care Health System, Newark.
2015: Shirley Klein, MD, FAAP; Pediatric Practice Program, Wilmington
2013: Michele Logan, RN; Westside Family Healthcare, Wilmington
2012: Julia Pillsbury, DO, FAAP, FACOP; Center for Pediatric & Adolescent Medicine, Dover